To all projects
Since 2007, we have supported
5

projects and invested

5

in funding.

In the global competition between top universities, funding from foundations and the business community plays a major role in determining success. For over 130 years, the Carl Zeiss Foundation has supported the University of Jena and its partners in making Jena internationally visible as a location for business and science.
Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal
President
Friedrich Schiller University Jena
The Carl Zeiss Foundation promotes research on cutting-edge topics at universities in an impressive and consistent way. This support helps these mostly interdisciplinary research groups be recognised as leaders, both nationally and internationally. It’s a very exciting task for me to contribute to their success.
Prof. Dr. Joachim Mnich
Chair of the Carl Zeiss Foundation selection committees
German Electron Synchrotron DESY
To the best of my knowledge, this is the first and only endowed professorship in Germany – and one of the first in the world – to deal exclusively with the interface of AI and law. I really appreciate being able to focus entirely on these research questions in my chair – and to have a great team of young researchers doing research on similar topics.
Prof. Dr. Michèle Finck
CZS Endowed Professorship for Artificial Intelligence Law
University of Tübingen
The Carl Zeiss Foundation is a blessing for science. It provides funding precisely where usual funding instruments stop, where taking chances at the highest risk level can lead to breakthroughs at disciplinary boundaries, and always with a view to young scientists – with a great deal of freedom and in an uncomplicated, transparent fashion.
Prof. Dr. Joachim Ankerhold
Vice President for Research
University of Ulm

Our funding goals

We provide funding for research and teaching in the STEM fields. In this way, we continue our founder’s mission in a contemporary form, following four guiding principles.

Learn more

The Foundation considers itself to be a partner for people engaged in visionary and outstanding academic work in the fields of natural science and engineering.

Zu allen Projekten
Seit 2007 haben wir
5

Projekte gefördert und

5

Fördersumme investiert.

Im weltweiten Wettbewerb der Spitzenuniversitäten entscheidet die Förderung durch Stiftungen und Wirtschaft wesentlich über Erfolge mit. Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung unterstützt die Universität Jena und ihre Partner seit mehr als 130 Jahren dabei, den Wirtschafts- und Wissenschaftsstandort Jena international sichtbar zu machen.
Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal
Präsident
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung fördert auf eindrucksvolle und konsequente Art und Weise Forschung zu hochaktuellen Themen an Universitäten. Die Unterstützung hilft diesen meist interdisziplinären Forschergruppen an die nationale und internationale Spitze zu kommen. Es ist für mich eine sehr spannende Aufgabe daran mitwirken zu dürfen.
Prof. Dr. Joachim Mnich
Vorsitz Auswahlkommissionen Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchroton DESY
Die Stiftungsprofessur ist meines Wissens nach die erste und einzige in Deutschland - und eine der ersten weltweit - die sich ausschließlich mit der Schnittstelle von KI und Recht auseinandersetzt. Ich schätze es sehr, mich in meinem Lehrstuhl ganz auf diese Forschungsfragen konzentrieren zu dürfen - und ein großes Team an Nachwuchswissenschaftlern zu haben, die zu ähnlichen Themen forschen.
Prof. Dr. Michèle Finck
CZS Stiftungsprofessur für Recht der Künstlichen Intelligenz
Universität Tübingen
Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung ist ein Segen für die Wissenschaft. Sie fördert gerade dort, wo übliche Förderinstrumente aufhören, dort, wo mit höchstem Risiko Durchbrüche an den Grenzen der Disziplinen erzielt werden können und immer mit Blick auf den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs – mit viel Freiraum, unkompliziert, transparent.
Prof. Dr. Joachim Ankerhold
Vizepräsident für Forschung
Universität Ulm

Unsere Förderziele

Wir fördern Forschung und Lehre in den MINT-Fächern. Den Auftrag unseres Stifters führen wir so in zeitgemäßer Form fort. Dabei folgen wir vier Leitprinzipien.

Mehr erfahren

Die Stiftung begreift sich als Partner für visionäre und exzellente Wissenschaft im Bereich der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften.