History 1896 – 1930

1896

On 1 October, the revised statute of the Carl Zeiss Foundation came into full force and effect. At the same time, it thus becomes the corporate constitution of the foundation companies for more than a century. His regulations on health, pension and survivors’ insurance, working hours, salary, and leave as well as his appointment of an independent workers’ committee for issuing advisory opinions to the Executive Board are exemplary for his time. The statute anticipates developments that are established as norms more than half a century later in the form of a modern labour law. For example, the regulation on worker representation only became obsolete after the Works Constitution Act was enforced in 1952. In addition to these foundation goals, expected to be fulfilled by each of the foundation companies, the statute provides for various funding areas outside of the foundations, including the promotion of science/research (through the University of Jena), the promotion of general interests of the precision technology industry and measures benefiting the labour force in the Jena area. However, the main focus remains on the promotion of science.


1900

In an amendment to the statute of the foundation dated 24 February, Ernst Abbe sets out the detailed type and procedure of the Carl Zeiss Foundation's grants to the University of Jena and their use.


1903

Inauguration of the “Volkshaus” (community centre) in Jena, which was built by the foundation and housed a library as well as club and meeting rooms.


1904

The grants from the Carl Zeiss Foundation to the University of Jena exceed those of the state.


1905

Ernst Abbe passes away on 14 January.


1911

Construction of the Abbe memorial designed by Henry van de Velde in Jena. Inside there are bronze reliefs by Constantin Emile Meunier and a marble herma by Max Klinger.


1919

Otto Schott transfers his shares to the foundation, which also makes the foundation the sole owner of Jenaer Glaswerk.


Examples of the funding activities of the Carl Zeiss Foundation between 1889 and 1930

Funding is mostly allocated to social and cultural institutions of Jena and the University of Jena. In addition to an extensive construction programme, professorships and lecturer positions are financed and grants or contributions in kind to institutes or projects are made. The most important funding plans of the period between the two World Wars were:
  • Construction of the Volkshaus (1903)
  • New construction of the main university building, half funded by the Carl Zeiss Foundation (1908)
  • Construction of the Volksbad (community pool) (1909)
  • Construction of one of the first pure children's hospitals in Germany (1917)
  • Construction of the Abbeaneum, a striking Bauhaus-style building that contained the Optical Institute and the Institute of Applied Mathematics and is now used as a teaching and research facility for the Friedrich Schiller University Jena (1930)
Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung uses Cookies on this Website to enhance the user experience and provide the best possible Service. By continuing to browse the Website, you consent to our use of Cookies.

Historie 1896 – 1930

1896

Am 1. Oktober tritt das überarbeitete Statut der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung verbindlich in Kraft. Es ist damit gleichzeitig für über ein Jahrhundert Unternehmensverfassung der Stiftungsunternehmen. Mit seinen Regelungen zur Kranken-, Pensions- und Hinterbliebenenversicherung, den Arbeitszeit-, Lohn- und Urlaubsregelungen und einem eigenständigen Arbeiterausschuss zur Abgabe beratender Stellungnahmen gegenüber dem Vorstand ist es vorbildhaft für seine Zeit. Das Statut greift Entwicklungen voraus, die sich mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert später in Form eines modernen Arbeitsrechts normativ niederschlagen. So wird beispielsweise die Regelung über die Arbeitervertretungen erst 1952 mit Inkrafttreten des Betriebsverfassungsgesetzes gegenstandslos. Neben diesen Stiftungszwecken, die jeweils innerhalb der Stiftungsbetriebe zu erfüllen sind, sieht das Statut verschiedene Förderbereiche außerhalb der Stiftungsbetriebe vor, zu denen nun neben der Förderung der Wissenschaft (in Gestalt der Universität Jena) auch die Förderung allgemeiner Interessen der feintechnischen Industrie und Maßnahmen zugunsten der arbeitenden Bevölkerung im Raum Jena treten. Schwerpunkt bleibt aber die Förderung der Wissenschaft.


1900

In einem Ergänzungsstatut vom 24. Februar zum Statut der Stiftung regelt Ernst Abbe detailliert Art und Verfahren der Zuwendungen der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung an die Universität Jena und deren Verwendung.


1903

Einweihung des von der Stiftung erbauten Volkshauses in Jena, in dem eine Bibliothek sowie Vereins- und Versammlungsräume untergebracht sind.


1904

Die Zuwendungen der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung an die Universität Jena übersteigen die des Staates.


1905

Tod Ernst Abbes am 14. Januar.


1911

Errichtung des von Henry van de Velde entworfenen Abbe-Denkmals in Jena. Es beherbergt im Innern Bronzereliefs von Constantin Emile Meunier und eine Marmorherme von Max Klinger.


1919

Otto Schott überträgt seine Anteile auf die Stiftung, wodurch die Stiftung auch Alleineigentümerin des Glaswerkes wird.


Beispiele der Fördertätigkeit der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung zwischen 1889 und 1930

Gefördert werden vor allem soziale und kulturelle Einrichtungen Jenas und der Jenaer Universität. Neben einem umfangreichen Bauprogramm werden Professoren- und Dozentenstellen finanziert und Zuschüsse oder Sachleistungen zu Instituten oder Projekten geleistet. Die bedeutendsten Fördervorhaben der Zwischenkriegszeit waren:
  • Bau des Volkshauses (1903)
  • Neubau des Universitätshauptgebäudes, zur Hälfte von der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung finanziert (1908)
  • Errichtung des Volksbads (1909)
  • Errichtung einer der ersten reinen Kinderkliniken Deutschlands (1917)
  • Bau des Abbeaneums, eines markanten Gebäudes im Bauhaus-Stil, das das Optische Institut und das Institut für Angewandte Mathematik beherbergte und heute als Lehr- und Forschungsgebäude der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena genutzt wird (1930)
Die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung verwendet auf dieser Website Cookies, um die Seiten optimiert darzustellen und das Nutzererlebnis zu verbessern. Durch die Nutzung unserer Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden.